Pumpkin muffins for your workplace

October 3, 2013 § 5 Comments

Here in Oregon, I have an appreciative audience for my cooking experiments.  That’s not to say that people aren’t appreciative in Texas.  However, I’ve never been in an environment where 24 muffins could disappear in 17-seconds.  These healthy muffins are indeed tasty.  I really wanted to add chopped pecans to them, but with one person here who is allergic to nuts, I made these sans nuts.  Feel free on your own to use as many pecans or chopped walnuts as you want.  When I make these for me and Dave, I’m going to stir in a cup of chopped pecans (Dave’s favorite).

I really liked these.  They have a light texture, and are great with coffee for breakfast.  I only had one, because when I went back for another, the plate was empty.

GPP_10_03_2013

Pumpkin muffins

2 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1-1/2 cups white sugar

3-1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice*

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3 eggs

1 15-ounce can pumpkin puree (or 2 cups homemade pumpkin puree)

1 cup vegetable oil (i.e. canola, soybean, or corn oil)

Preheat oven to 350-degrees fahrenheit.  Prepare 24 muffin cups with paper liners or cooking spray.  Whisk together the white flour, whole wheat flour, white sugar, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, salt, and baking powder; set aside.

In a separate bowl, stir together the eggs, pumpkin puree, and the oil.

Combine egg mixture with flour mixture, making sure that it is completely incorporated (do not beat).

Spoon mixture into the muffin cups.  Place in oven and cook for 20-minutes, or until a pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Makes 24 muffins.

* Pumpkin pie spice isn’t available everywhere, so here’s an easy (and economical) recipe for making your own.

Pumpkin pie spice

6 teaspoons ground cinnamon

3 teaspoons ground ginger

1-1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg

Combine.  Store in a small jar in the pantry.  Good for pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, or muffins.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Pumpkin muffins for your workplace

  • viveka says:

    I like the read of this .. love the smell of those spices. We don’t have tinned pumpkins or puree over here – but as a child we had sweet pickled pumpkins with our sunday steak. I had plans to buy pumpkin puree over in NYC, but totally forgotten it. So another year without pumpkin bread or muffins. *smile

    • Libby says:

      Just use butternut or acorn squash…no pumpkin is required. There’s a bit of work to cook the squash, but it’s just roasting or steaming to get it to the stage where it’s soft enough for mashing.

      • viveka says:

        Libby, butternut great idea … but all that job for some muffins that I will eat all by myself … not for me. I WANT PUREE!!!!!!!

      • Libby says:

        I know! I feel your pain! When I lived abroad, I just wanted canned pumpkin puree, and hated having to make my own. I guess you could buy a few butternut squash, and then make puree and freeze it in plastic bags…seems like a lot of trouble though.

      • viveka says:

        Libby, that is a great idea – very clever.
        I will put the pumpkin puree on top of my shopping list for the next trip to US. Hopefully next year it will Chicago again. *smile

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pumpkin muffins for your workplace at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

