Pinto beans with noodles and cheese

October 13, 2013 § 3 Comments

On Friday, I attended an event where there were leftovers…lots of leftovers.  I was lucky to escape with the leftover cooked pinto beans.  I’m not complaining; I love pinto beans.  It’s just that I don’t eat much, and with Dave still in Texas, I’ve had to significantly curtail the food I prepare.  So…what to make with pinto beans?  Finally, I decided to use them in a casserole.   It turned out great, and I’ll definitely make it again….probably when Dave’s here in a couple of weeks.   You can make this as spicy as you want.  I went for extra spicy, and added extra Cajun seasoning.  Use what feels good for you.

I also divided this recipe into two portions, so I could freeze half.

gpp10_13_2013

Pinto beans with noodles and cheese

8 ounces Kluski noodles

4 cups cooked pinto beans (2 15-ounce cans, drained)

2 cloves, minced garlic

2 10-ounce cans diced tomatoes and green chilies (I used Rotel)

3/4 cup sour cream

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Creole seasoning, to taste (I used about 1 teaspoon)

Cook the kluski noodles according to package directions.  Drain and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350-degrees fahrenheit.  Grease 2 small or 1 large glass pan (9″ X 13″).

Meanwhile, stir together the pinto beans, garlic, and diced tomatoes.  Stir in the noodles.  Pour half of this mixture into the prepared pan(s).  Dot with all of the sour cream, and sprinkle on half of the cheddar cheese.   Sprinkle on creole seasoning to taste (I used about half a teaspoon).  Top with the remaining bean noodle mixture.  Sprinkle on creole seasoning (another 1/2 teaspoon) and remaining grated cheese.

Freeze, or bake in the oven for about 25 minutes until hot and bubbly.  Serves 8.

I divided this into two separate dishes, and cooked one and freezed the other.

§ 3 Responses to Pinto beans with noodles and cheese

  • viveka says:

    Pinto beans, something totally new to me .. had to ask Google for help, sure I can use any been .. it’s a bit like a posh mac n’chesse.
    Kluski noodles never heard about niether .. as I always said .. you have some wired and wonderful stuff over there.

    • Libby says:

      I like kluski noodles because they are sturdy and they don’t fall apart. And yes, you can use any kind of bean you want in this: black beans, red, pinto, white beans…whatever. They are all good.

      • viveka says:

        Have never heard about kluski noodles – give it 4 years and maybe I will be able to find it. I’m sure that an Asian shop would have it, but we don’t have any nearby even.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pinto beans with noodles and cheese at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

