On being frugal

May 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

Before I buy a cookbook, I like to try it out first.  I check it out at the library, try a few recipes, and if I like it, I buy it.  Here are a few I’m trying out right now. 

The one open on the top is Ina Garten’s “Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That,” and it’s the only one of the three I plan to purchase.  All three are fine cookbooks, but I found Garten’s the most inspirational. 

For a cookbook to be good enough to buy, it has to meet my criteria…first, its recipes have to be delicious.  And second, it has to be beautifully illustrated.  I like for pretty much every recipe to have a picture.  I rarely follow recipes exactly, and the photographs inspire me to develop my own recipes.  We are gluten-free, so most recipes require some modification anyway.

Here’s one of our favorites.  We’ve had this cookbook for a year now, and every recipe in it is delightful.  The illustrations are lovely.  You can see it is already dog-eared from only a year of use. 

  

Buying my cookbooks in this manner prevents us from filling our bookshelves with ridiculous purchases that we never use.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On being frugal at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

