Roseate Spoonbills

May 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

I came home recently to this.  Look on the far side of the duck pond, and you will see a pink bird.  Yes, I know it is just a tiny speck, but what do you expect from my iPhone?

It’s not a flamingo.  I made several frantic calls to Dave, who informed me that it is a Roseate Spoonbill.   He says he saw many of these when he was growing up here.

It is definitely an odd-looking bird with the strangest beak.  I hope it doesn’t eat our koi.  I tried to get closer, but  evidently Roseate Spoonbills are very shy.  When I was close enough to snap a shot, it flew away.  Sorry about that.  Dave says it will return.  Hopefully I will be there with the camera (not an iPhone) when it does.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Roseate Spoonbills at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

