Garage sale find

June 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

Are you a good bargainer?  I can be, but I’m not always.  Recently, on my way home from a long day of meetings downtown, I passed a garage sale.  Garage sales aren’t usually in the evenings, but these folks were smart.  They had everything set up, and were out there at 6pm, drinking cocktails and waiting for suckers like me to come home from their offices.

Yes, I stopped.

I’ve been wanting to learn how to refinish a piece of furniture, and was intriqued by a cherrywood coffee table (a “genuu-wine” antique, the owner told me), and a bar cabinet.  Both looked like terrific first-time furniture refinishing projects.

I bought the bar cabinet.

And even though I have lived in foreign countries where bargaining is required, I didn’t even bargain this time.  I was feeling very lazy.  I told the owner I thought about bargaining, but wasn’t in the mood.

Frankly, the price actually seemed pretty decent to me.  I paid $35 for a piece of solid wood furniture from the 1980’s.

(Look at the old Crown Royal bags inside.)

I’m thinking I can put the cabinet in the dining room (although it is a bit small), a bedroom (good sized, but why would someone need a bar in a bedroom?), or outside on the covered porch area.  I’m leaning toward sanding it down and painting it red, and using it outside.  Maybe I could store chair cushions and other outside gear in here.  Or use it as a potting table.   What do you think?

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garage sale find at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

