Garage sale find; part 2

June 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

Remember when I mentioned my recent garage sale find?  It was a sturdy little bar cabinet that I picked up on the way back from a day downtown.  It is solid wood, and manufactured in the 1980’s.  After disposing of the 13 Crown Royal bags hidden inside (the Crown Royal bags are soft flannel, and would be perfect for cleaning silver), I cleaned it well.  Then, I sanded it, washed it down again, then sanded it again.  I gave it a few coats of Glidden “Red Delicious” Brilliance, paint and primer in one.  The “Red Delicious” was scary, since it went on hot pink.  Dave walked by when I was putting on the first coat of paint, and he didn’t ease my concern about the hot pinkness of it when he said “now, that’s an interesting color.”  But after it dried, it looked decent.

After it was thoroughly dry, I glazed it with Glidden “Bittersweet Chocolate,” then waited for that to dry and brushed on a coat of polyurethane.  Normally I don’t use polyurethane, but eventually I have plans to put this on our covered patio outside, and I wanted it to be extra protected.  While the polyurethane dried, I took the old door pulls and sanded them up a little, then spraypainted them black, and reattached them to the cabinet after they dried.

After a few days to outgas (polyurethane is so stinky), I finally hauled it back inside, and it is sitting in our bedroom.  For now, it’s been put to use as a television cabinet.  The red is only so-so with our bedroom, but remember that we eventually will move this cabinet to a covered patio, so we’ll only have it indoors for a short while, and then it will be heading outside.

By the way, yes, that is the actual color of our walls.  They are a soft yellow, and go with absolutely nothing.  Painting the bedroom is on our to-do list, but it’s way down at the bottom of the list, since we have so many other things to take care of first.  I am thinking of someday painting the walls a very soft green, which would highlight the beautiful view out our windows.

Here’s a shot of the top of the cabinet:

The little wooden box was picked up by Dave’s mom on her travels.  The little plant is fake, and it’s from Michael’s (I think I paid $2 for it).  The lamp is from Target a long time ago, the tray is from Ikea, and the Buddha head is an ancient purchase from Marshall’s.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garage sale find; part 2 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

