Ridiculously cute candy

December 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

I got sucked in to Pinterest.  I’ve been there a few times, and each visit, I find something that I can’t live without.  Recently, I found some cute bacon and egg candies.  I made them for our local library open house, and then again yesterday to bring in to the office.

These are cute and they taste pretty good too.  I think it’s the combination of the sweet and salty.  I did modify the recipe slightly.  It called for yellow M&M’s, and I used Reeses pieces (I’m a scientist and also an engineer…so, I calculated the ratio of yellow candies to other-colored candies in both the M&M’s, and the Reese’s Pieces, and decided there were more yellow ones in the Reese’s, so that’s what I bought).

To make them, I bought a one pound slab of pseudo white chocolate (also known as White Almond Bark), a one pound bag of pretzel sticks (which was way more than what I needed, but apparently, a 1 pound pound bag is the smallest size sold), and a 10.5-ounce bag of Reece’s Pieces.

Start by melting the White Almond Bark in a double-boiler.  Some people prefer the microwave, but I’ve found that the microwave is very unpredictable, and I’m more likely to end up with burned candy.

While the almond bark is melting, open the bag of pretzel sticks, and take out a couple of large handfuls of them.  Break each pretzel stick into equally-sized pieces.

Sort the Reece’s Pieces, separating the yellow candies, and placing them into a bowl.  Feel free to eat all of the orange and brown ones as a little snack, because they aren’t needed for this recipe, and also your blood sugar is a little low, and you need to eat something.

When the almond bark is melted, drop it by teaspoonfuls onto wax paper sheets.  Place a yellow Reece’s Piece, and two pretzel halves onto each spoonful of almond bark.  Allow to cool.  Peel off the wax paper, and place into plastic bags.  Makes 50-60, depending upon how many you eat, and how many yellow Reece’s Pieces are in your bag.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ridiculously cute candy at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

