Sewing some expensive pajamas

March 1, 2012 § 7 Comments

I do not enjoy sewing.  Even though I have two sewing machines (a Bernina and a Singer), and can sew pretty much anything, I DO NOT LIKE SEWING.  Dave, who sews his own fire pulltabs for his racecars, probably likes to sew more than I do.  Having told you that sewing is not my favorite thing to do, I now have to tell you that I spent my lunch hour recently at the fabric store, buying a pattern and some fabric.

By the way…when did sewing patterns suddenly become $20?  The last time I sewed any kind of apparel, the patterns were $8 each, and my local store sold them for half price.  I had no such luck this visit.  I walked away with a very expensive pattern, some plain white seersucker fabric (on sale!),  buttons, thread, and interfacing.  In total, it was $42 for… a pair of pajamas.

The problem is that I’ve become addicted to plain white cotton seersucker pajamas.  I really can’t sleep in anything else.  Last fall, my very last pair bit the dust.  Oh, I purchased substitutes, but nothing felt comfortable.  Not to mention the fact that I have very long legs and arms, and anything purchased in my size “small” was ridiculously short.  I even tried buying men’s pajamas; they were long enough, but looked stupid, and were only available in “masculine” options, like red and black plaid.  Plaid is not my thing, and for some reason plain white cotton pajamas with little roses embroidered on the pocket are not available in a men’s size small, or any other men’s size, for that matter.

Why, oh why, did I not purchase 20 pairs of my favorite white seersucker pajamas when I found them seven years ago, on sale for only $12 a pair?  Why didn’t I take better care of the few pairs I did purchase, abusing them with bleach and heavy-duty scrubbing in the washing machine?  What was I thinking?  How did I not know that they’d become my most favorite pajamas ever?

Just to let you know, I did consider purchasing my pajamas from various online pajama vendors, and after discovering prices in the range of $200 to $600, decided that making them myself was a more economical option.

So yes, this weekend, I will be sewing a trial pair of white seersucker $42 pajamas.  If it works out, then I suppose I’ll be making many more pairs.  But maybe not for awhile, because I hate sewing.  I really do.

Actually, I wonder if I can get Dave to sew them for me.  Er…probably not (white seersucker pajamas bear no similiarity to racecar fire suppresion pulltabs).

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Sewing some expensive pajamas

  • I wish I knew how to sew, but I really suck at it. I have a white sewing machine that just sits in a closet waiting for that day that I learn how. Somehow all of my projects end up with me fabric gluing everything together. Not sure that would work well in your case.

    • Libby says:

      My sewing usually consists of making curtains, which are so economical when compared to the ones you can buy. If you want to learn, I suggest a sewing class for beginners, at your local community center, or continuing education program.

  • viveka says:

    LIbby … you will be fine !!! When you see how good they turn out to be – you will do it again. Don’t sew anymore – but about 20 years ago I sew every thing – coats, suits and evening gowns with Vouge Pattern, that was when I was size 14 – in school I hated both sawing and cooking – who would guess ???!!! If only my teachers could see me now. Good luck.

  • Viveka says:

    How is the pajama going ?????? !!!!!

    • Libby says:

      I had to make the pants into shorts, because there wasn’t enough fabric! I guess this will be fine, since it’s getting warmer around here these days.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sewing some expensive pajamas at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

