Spinach and feta frittata

March 28, 2012 § 15 Comments

I’m on jury duty all this week, which is an interesting experience.  It is the first time I’ve been called to serve in my current community.  The courthouse is new, and it is on the ocean, so it’s actually not a bad place to be.  When it’s all over, I’ll tell you about the experience.  So far, the only bad part of jury duty is the lack of decent restaurants nearby the courthouse.  Because the place is so new, there’s not much around in terms of dining (unless a person wants to eat at a Subway* sandwich place, Home Depot, Target, or a nail salon).  On Monday, these limited options and a 30-minute window forced me to go without lunch.  On Tuesday, I spurned Subway and drove to a diner a few miles away.  The diner wasn’t anything special, but the waitress was a real character, and so she made up for the considerable lack of ambience.  And my Reuben sandwich wasn’t bad either, after I explained how to make it (evidently Reuben sandwiches are not frequently ordered on the beach).

It occurs to me that I’m probably a little spoiled in terms of food.  While I certainly do not need “fancy” food, I do require it to be fresh, without unnecessary preservatives,  appealing to the eye, and delicious.  Is that too much to ask?  Actually, it might be a little too much to ask.  Yesterday, as the other members of the jury came back from eating at Home Depot, the sandwich chain, the gas station, or whatever other awful place they went, I thought about the homemade Reuben sandwich I’d had in that little hole-in-the-wall restaurant.*  When faced with a chain restaurant or an unknown. I’ll always pick the unknown.  Even if I have to tell them how to make my food, I’ll still select the unknown. ** I think this has something to do with my love of new things, of trying new dishes, and trying almost everything so long as it is prepared with caring hands.

This exploratory nature spills over into my home life.  When friends come over for a meal, I’m happy to try a new recipe or invent something on the spot.  There’s always so much food that a mistep is never tragic.  When our friends Olga and Anthony came over for brunch last Sunday, I decided to prepare a frittata.  Forget that I had only a vague idea of what should go into the supposed frittata.  I did a quick recipe check online, and found a recipe that looked sort of like what I wanted to prepare (“sort of” meaning that it called for eggs, and had absolutely no other similiarity to what I thought I wanted to make).  In the end, I whisked together some eggs, sundried tomatoes, feta cheese, and some spinach, and it was pretty good.  I’ll definitely make this again.  It uses 9 eggs, so this can serve many.  As it happened, we served 4, with leftovers for me to eat for breakfast on Monday and Tuesday (the leftovers were very tasty cold).

Spinach and feta frittata

1 tablespoon olive oil or butter

1 garlic clove, minced

1 pound fresh spinach leaves, cleaned and chopped

9 eggs

2 tablespoons heavy cream

3 tablespoons sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil; chopped

1 8-ounce block feta cheese, thinly sliced or crumbled

Freshly grated black pepper

Preheat oven to 400-degrees.

Heat the olive oil in a large cast iron skillet on medium heat.  Saute the garlic in the oil, being careful not to let it brown.  Reduce heat to low and add the spinach.  Cook, stirring lightly, until spinach is wilted and reduced in size.

Meanwhile, beat the eggs in a large bowl.  Whisk in the cream and sun-dried tomatoes.  Stir in the feta cheese and a few shakes of freshly grated black pepper.  Pour into the cast iron pan, and cook on medium low heat, using a spatula to slightly lift up the egg mixture to allow uncooked eggs to flow underneath.  When eggs are medium set (about 4 minutes), remove pan from cooktop, and place into the preheated oven.  Cook for another 10 minutes or so, until eggs are cooked through and frittata is puffy and golden.

Serves 4-6.

*Sorry if you’re a fan of Subway.  I’ve eaten there exactly once, and so am not an expert.  I don’t care for it, but Dave loves it (evidently, they have bacon, which is his primary criteria when selecting sandwiches).

**Why, yes, this could explain why I’ve traveled to many places all over the world, and have managed to eat at many “unusual” places, and get worms.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Spinach and feta frittata

  • viveka says:

    This is going to happen this week … love the picture. Makes me hungry.
    I like Subway – when I’m on the go … not everything they do, but they have some that is okay. Just like Dave I like my bacon in my sandwiches.
    Reuben – is a must when in US … my favorite over there.

    • Libby says:

      I debated using asparagus in the frittata instead of the spinach. So you if you have some of that, you could consider that instead (hey, maybe I’ll do that for supper tonight).

      • viveka says:

        Have frozen asparagus in my freezer somewhere – like the thought of fresh spinach. It looks like I have to half the recipes – otherwise I will eat if for 4 days. Your pictures talked me into trying this over the weekend. Can’t eat chicken or fish everyday.

      • Libby says:

        Even if you have leftovers, it will still be ok, because you can eat it cold for breakfast for a few days (which is what I did).

      • viveka says:

        Good idea. Will come back with my report.

      • viveka says:

        Libby, have a problem here … don’t have a skillet that I can put in the oven – wish I had mum’s old iron frying pan, will bring it with me home next time. She doesn’t use it anyway. So I have to figure out what I will make this in – because I done frittata’s before on the stove and they never come out right. Really hungry for this one .. all done to your photo – I suck in good food pictures.

      • Libby says:

        Hmmm…I’d just forget about cooking the eggs on the stovetop. Saute the spinach in a pan on the stove, and then stir everything together in a bowl. Pour the contents into a greased glass or ceramic oven-safe casserole pan, and pop it into the oven, and cook until the eggs are set and a knife comes out cleanly.

      • viveka says:

        Thank you … I was thinking that way too. Like an oven omelet. It will happen tomorrow.

  • df says:

    I’m a big frittata fan and in the winter months often just throw in kale, spinach or chard from my freezer. Not quite as good as fresh, but it’s hard to tell the difference. This recipe looks delicious, and I’m inspired to try it this week. Completely with you on the whole in the wall vs. the chain. We have used Subway on occasion when there is no other choice, and of course my youngest loves their subs. Although he orders just ham and cheese on his sub, with nothing else. Absolutely nothing else. I can’t imagine eating a dry sandwich, especially on what seems like awfully fluffy bread to me!

  • it quite healthy and testy too….

  • […] I heartily recommend; Libby’s Spinach and Feta Frittata […]

  • […] again I done Libby’s “Spinach and Feta Frittata” – first time I did it – I had to use a oven prof dish, because I didn’t have a iron […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spinach and feta frittata at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

