Beer bread!

April 2, 2012 § 7 Comments

Creative Noshing started a bit of a trend with her recent posting for beer bread.  Fellow blogger My Guilty Pleasures, whipped up a loaf, and said it was delicious.  Dave and I thought it would be perfect for dinner.  I made the recipe (mostly) as the instructions indicate, although I did incorporate 1 entire teaspoon of dried oregano into the batter, as well as another entire teaspoon of garlic powder…this was in addition to the hefty sprinkling of garlic and paprika that we sprinkled on top of the loaf.  We served it with German sausages and sauerkraut, and so our additions were a logical modification.

Beer bread is very hearty, and it doesn’t really taste like beer (Dave thankfully notes, as he doesn’t like beer at all).  In addition to the sausages and kraut that we served with it, it is also good with soups and stews.  Don’t even think about making sandwiches out of it…it’s not that kind of bread.  Check out Creative Noshing’s blog for other tasty food ideas…that girl cooks like a chef. I was first introduced to beer bread by my good friend Bob, who was a chef for the railroad.  I was very happy to see Creative Noshing’s posting, because it brought back some good memories for me.

Beer bread is similar to Irish soda bread, but slightly more flexible.  For instance, I suspect this recipe would be terrific with a cup of grated chedder cheese incorporated into the batter.  It’s also good just the way it is.  See if you agree.

Creative Noshing’s beer bread

3 cups all purpose flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

1 (12 ounce) can beer (we used a microbrewery bottle leftover from holiday company)

1/4 cup melted butter

garlic powder

paprika

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix dry ingredients and beer. Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Pour melted butter over mixture. Sprinkle lightly with garlic powder and paprika. Bake 1 hour, remove from pan and cool for at least 15 minutes.

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Beer bread!

  • viveka says:

    And I who has had it as sandwich for days now .. you’re right it’s very likeness Irish Soda bread. An other bread we like, my buds and me.
    Will make it again today .. and beer is good for the hair too. I don’t drink beer neither

    • Libby says:

      We’ve been enjoying it toasted, alongside eggs for breakfast. I think we’ll have the last of it tonight, with some soup. And we’re not beer-drinkers, either.

      • viveka says:

        Very tasty .. as you said, very likeness the Irish Soda bread – that I always bring with me back too. Soup that sounds delicious – eat fare too little of soup, but we are not a soup nation like UK and Germany.

  • Yay, I am so glad you liked it. You are right, this loaf could go in so many directions. I like your additions, they sound terrific. Your loaf looks beautiful.

  • df says:

    We always have beer around, being occasional beer drinkers, and I’ve just got to try this. I wonder how a micro brewed beer with a strong flavour might work (there is an apricot wheat beer that I have in mind)?

    • Libby says:

      Although we aren’t big beer drinkers, we always have a few 6-packs of microbrewery bottles around for our friends. As it happens, we used a microbrewery beer in this recipe. I think that your Apricot Wheat Beer would be perfect in this recipe.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beer bread! at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

