How to peel an avocado

April 9, 2012 § 2 Comments

When I was in graduate school and working in California, I came home to Texas every other weekend.  With each trip back home, I packed my suitcase with fruit and vegetables from California’s best vegetable markets.  Dave’s favorite was avocadoes, and he never failed to remind me to please pack more avocadoes.  Dave is a person who likes very few vegetables, and so when he specifically requests something green and healthy, it is a very big deal.

Toward the end of my stay in L.A., my suitcase contained mostly avocadoes, and little else.  Now that I’m working on my dissertation, my trips to California are fewer, and Dave has to settle for imported avocadoes, which can cost a dollar or more each here in Texas, and taste nothing like the California avocadoes we came to enjoy.

Dave loves avocadoes so much, he planted two avocado trees at our former home.  They didn’t take, but we’re planning to try again.  We’re going to try planting a few trees in the front yard at the farmhouse, where we’re hoping that the house will give them some protection from the elements.

Avocadoes are difficult to peel without wasting most of the fruit.  For years, I painstakingly cut away the outer peel, and then sliced the inner fruit.  This is probably the most wasteful to way to cut an avocado.

I’ve since learned that the easiest and quickest way to peel an avocado is to cut it in half, remove the seed, and then use a spoon to scoop out the meat from the shell.  Then you can slice or mash the flesh according to your recipe.

We’ll be posting a recipe for guacamole later this week.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to How to peel an avocado

  • viveka says:

    This avocado is perfect, long time since I got something in that quality. I do the peeling a bit different – I cut the them in half take out the stone and then I cut into quarters and use a peeling knife – put it under the tip of the “skin” and then just peel like a banana. To be served in halves I do the same way you do. Avocado is a fantastic fruit – I think I have to pay about $1.20 and they are not even close to the quality you have on the photo.

    • Libby says:

      This avocado was from a batch of six that Dave picked up from the market, and yes, they all were perfect like this one. We made a big batch of guacamole, which is so easy to do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to peel an avocado at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

