Make your own dirt! Part 1

April 18, 2012 § 5 Comments

Dave:  What do you want for an anniversary present?

Me:  A compost pile.

Dave:  No one wants a compost pile.  Are you crazy?

Me:  Can’t you build me a compost pile?

Dave:

Me:  How about a little one…we can make it out of those old boards over there.

Dave:  Those boards are ROTTEN.  They will last, like, 3 weeks, and then they will disintegrate into nothingness.

Me:  Ok.  Let’s make a compost bin like your mom’s then, you know, with those clever little planks of wood that stack up.

Dave:  I’m not doing that.  Plus, are you even CONSIDERING that a compost bin will attract humonguous rats that will come and eat at it like it’s a buffet?  Do you want rats hanging around?  I think you do.  I think you’d actually LIKE rats hanging around the house.  You’d probably be like “hi,” and you’d be giving them treats.

Me:  Ok.

Dave:  NO compost bin.  So, let’s go to that new restaurant on the bay for our anniversary.  Ok?

Me:  Sure.  Ok.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Make your own dirt! Part 1

  • df says:

    Can’t tell you how much I love this. When we moved into our new place, I became a compost nag to my husband for about five months until we finally built one. (Didn’t know if I put a better spin on it that I might get supper out instead!)

  • viveka says:

    Brilliant … man you have!!!! Typical male! Could me that he found rat around his mums compost. I think you will be sitting at the restaurant thinking about the compost pile.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Make your own dirt! Part 1 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

