Lazy Sunday

April 23, 2012 § 7 Comments

This is the best time of year for Texas.  The weather is cool enough to have the windows open indoors.  There are no mosquitos and it’s warm enough to be outside without sweating to death.  On Sunday morning, after a big breakfast with Dave, I headed out to the patio, where I relaxed on the hammock.What you’re not seeing in this picture are the two Irish Wolfhounds who somehow managed to convince Dave that yes, they needed to be outside with me.  So, midway though my morning relaxation, I was joined by a couple of big fuzzy dogs who were certain that I really needed to have them right next to me.

I loved this patio when Dave’s mom still lived in this house.  She had a small round table with a few chairs, and of course…the hammock.  Her hammock is long gone, but this one is a nice replacement.  Dave gave it to me a few years ago for my birthday, and I enjoy relaxing in the back yard, with a laptop or a few books.  Dave has taken many a nap out here on this hammock.

Years ago, when the farmhouse was new, there were no trees and no duckpond.  Everything here was planned, cultivated, or built by his parents.  Someday, when we remodel this house, I want to make sure that we preserve the same mid-century feel of the place.  This patio and this view are definitely making the transition to the next iteration.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Lazy Sunday

  • df says:

    Dave’s parents were quite visionary and obviously hard-working. Wow, what a transformation they brought about. The view from the patio is what makes it.

  • viveka says:

    Wonderful photo …. A real a picture of a relaxed Sunday morning. Everything is so green around the pond – has the spring come that fare ????!!! Wonderful. Hammock – a word from the past for me.
    A bit envy when I look at your photo. You live on a beautiful spot.

    • Libby says:

      It’s getting greener by the day….maybe a little TOO green actually. I had to spend some time this weekend pulling the weeds that spontaneously burst up in the course of only a week!

      • viveka says:

        It looks like early summer on your photo … wonderful. Your photo is a true picture for me about relaxing … but I don’t think you had plans to read all the books on the stool, but they make a great photo *smile.

      • Libby says:

        I stacked the books there because I wasn’t sure what one I would decide to read. In the end, I finished up the fiction book on the top, and then looked through one of the cookbooks. It was a fabulous morning.

      • viveka says:

        … can see that … so envy. *smile

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lazy Sunday at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

