Meatloaf, swaddled in bacon (for extreme bacon-lovers)

April 30, 2012 § 9 Comments

You know how Dave likes bacon.  He loves it actually.  I suspect he would have MARRIED bacon, if it was available.  Fortunately for me, bacon was not marrying material back in the old days, when Dave and I were dating.  And so it happened, that Dave ended up marrying me…a lapsed Jew, a bad Jew, who actually eats bacon.  Yes, it’s true.  Bacon is not my favorite food, but it’s good.  For Dave though, bacon is quite good…exceptionally good.  He’s always trying to find a way to incorporate it into simple everyday dishes (like cake, fried chicken, and macaroni and cheese).  Last weekend, when we had a houseguest, he accused me of holding out on the bacon, which he felt was required for inclusion in our morning omelets.  Sure, I cooked a few pieces, but who really wants to hide bacon inside of an OMELET?  Bacon seems more like a garnish to me…not something that one would secrete inside of an omelet.  Evidently, I am very, very wrong….bacon, it appears, is DESIGNED to be laden inside of food, and also used as a garnish.  Who knew?  I mean, did you know?  Did you realize how important bacon is to our diet?

This past weekend, I cooked a meatloaf, and thought that I’d make an effort to prepare something that reflected Dave’s extreme love of bacon.  Here’s the result.

Meatloaf with bacon

24 saltines, crushed

2 eggs, beaten

3 cloves garlic, minced

10-ounce can diced tomatoes with green peppers (undrained)

1 cup mozarella cheese, grated

1/4 cup chopped parsley (or 2 tablespoons dried parsley)

1 pound ground turkey

1 pound ground chuck

Ground black pepper

8 slices bacon

Combine the saltines, eggs, garlic, and tomatoes.  Allow to sit for 15 minutes, then blend in cheese, parsley, turkey, ground chuck, and ground pepper.  Form into 1-2 loaves.  Cover with bacon slices.  Place on a rack or broiler pan and bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for 1 hour.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Meatloaf, swaddled in bacon (for extreme bacon-lovers)

  • viveka says:

    Libby …. now I’m going to say … didn’t I tell you so!!!!! Do you use turkey in your meatloaf ????!!!! That loaf looks brilliant to me – but turkey, no thanks. I don’t know really why I don’t like turkey – can eat it and it taste okay, but that’s about it for me.

  • pamasaurus says:

    I’m drooling thinking about this! Genius!

  • Oh, well, yum. Everything bad looking good.

  • df says:

    My 14-year old would go crazy for this; I’ll have to roll it out soon. Totally with you on the turkey; my usual meatballs for spaghetti and suchlike are made from ground turkey. You really have to get up here with Dave for a visit someday; Ottawa’s Pascale Berthiaume has been known to whip up a batch of chocolate bacon ice cream (there is a back story there and it’s tied to The Piggy Market, which I write about from time to time).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meatloaf, swaddled in bacon (for extreme bacon-lovers) at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

