Week in review: 5/4/2012

May 4, 2012 § 7 Comments

Dave watched the entire Jackie Chan movie collection.  In Chinese…and he doesn’t even understand Chinese, but I guess language differences don’t matter when the entire movie consists of people yelling “Hee-Yah!,” and chopping each other up with their hands.

I participated in a conference this week on Galveston island.  I was the Master (Mistress?) of Ceremonies, which was actually kind of fun.  The conference was at a hotel on the beach.  Every time I go to Galveston, I think that I need to visit there more often.  This picture was taken at sunrise yesterday morning.

Dave and I had twice-baked potatoes one night with our dinner.  They are so easy to make, you don’t need a recipe.  Just bake the potatoes in the oven or microwave until tender.  Allow to cool.  Split them down the middle, and then scoop out the potato pulp.  Mash the pulp with a little sour cream, butter, minced garlic, salt, pepper, and some grated cheese.  Fill the potato shells with the mashed potato mixture.  Sprinkle with a little more grated cheese, and pop into the oven at 350-degrees Fahrenheit for about 15 minutes until heated through, and the cheese is bubbly.

My business partner and I taught the first weekly session for a social media workshop series we are giving.  Social media is so big that there are now workshops for people who want to learn all about it.  So, it appears that I do really have some marketable skills (thank goodness, because it turns out that being able to do differential equations in your head is actually NOT a marketable skill, in spite of what your college math professor tells you).

We tried out a new recipe for some buttery-cheesy biscuits.  They had so much butter, Dave and I both decided to never cook them again.  Oh, we liked them just fine, but after eating them we each felt like we could have had a heart attack at any second.

We had a house guest who came and went so quickly, it was if he never visited at all.  He barely had time to stop to admire the poop tardis in our front yard.  He and Dave and another longtime high school pal spent eight hours the evening of his arrival looking at high school yearbooks and reminiscing about the old days.  It’s nice to know that high school boys are just as wildly inappropriate as high school girls…not that I was crazy or anything (evidently Dave was, though).

I gave in and read “Hunger Games,” and then wondered why it is such a big deal.

We had a windy night and the compost ball blew into the pasture, exactly as Dave predicted.  I had to go rescue it and then roll it back across the field, IN MY PAJAMAS, at 6:50am one morning this week, and it was full of stinky compost, which made me all smelly.  I’d say it was embarassing, but then Dave would say “I told you that ridiculous compost thing was a stupid idea,” so I’ll just say that the compost effort is still working FINE here. And no, Dave doesn’t know that I had to go rescue the ball from the cow pasture, so I’d appreciate it if you’d not mention it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Week in review: 5/4/2012

  • viveka says:

    Baked potatoes I eat once a week … great comfort food, especially as lonely diner. Pajamas ready yet ????
    Thanks for weekly report.
    The compost are keeping you busy .. more than one way.

    • Libby says:

      I got distracted by several technical papers I am writing, and so the pajamas are languishing on the sewing table. Dave knows how to sew…I wonder if he’ll finish them for me. Probably not.

      • viveka says:

        Libby, I think you will challenge the destiny too much ask Dave to finish them off – a man who knows how to just a sewing machine is pretty rare *smile

      • Libby says:

        The last time he did any sewing, he ruined my Bernina. He insisted that he could use my machine to sew some fire tabs for his racecar. After he paid to repair the machine, he vowed never to use it again, and so now he has to use the cheaper Singer for his little tasks.

      • viveka says:

        Still he know how to use a sawing maschine – men need small toys too I see. *smile

  • df says:

    Twice baked potatoes are such a good reminder! Love them, but so often forget about them when they would be a lifesaver. I think I squealed when I read about the compost ball! And the Hunger Games…had to read it myself as I’ve promised to take my 14-year old to see the movie and must agree that it did not live up to the hype for me.

    • Libby says:

      We haven’t seen the Hunger Games movie yet. Dave loves movies, but I can easily forgoe them. Still, I suspect we’ll be going to the Hunger Games for a date-night soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 5/4/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

