Slim Jim, the water snake

May 8, 2012 § 16 Comments

We were leaving on Sunday afternoon to run an errand, when Dave saw this snake moving across the road construction site on our street.  It was a 4-foot water snake, and not poisonous.  We watched him for awhile.

Dave said he’d seen him earlier, stalking some birds.  Although Slim Jim is a water snake, he also eats birds, eggs, mice, and rats.  When we came back, I wanted to go see if he was still there.  He wasn’t of course.  He was probably swimming around in one of the ditches that the road workers have temporarily installed to keep water from off the road.

We see snakes regularly here at the farm.  So far, they’ve always left us alone.  I used to worry that they’ll hurt our animals, but the cats and dogs are smart enough to stay away when they see one.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Slim Jim, the water snake

  • viveka says:

    Snakes are not my strongest point – but they are more afraid of us than we are of them .. they say. I just don’t like them – doesn’t matter if they are friendly or not … understand you are worried for the cats and the dogs, I think that they have some resistance for normal snakes bits – heard or read it somewhere. Better check on the net, Libby. Do you know that Ireland don’t have any snakes what so ever. Great name you have given him.

    • Libby says:

      I had a pet snake in college for awhile. They’re certainly not cuddly or as much fun as a dog or cat. I don’t mind them around the property though. It’s nice to see them lounging near the duck pond or in the back pasture. All those folks in Ireland are missing out.

  • lijiun says:

    Hi! Thanks for not killing the snake. Cheers!

  • You are very brave to be so calm around snakes. I used to teach children about snakes in Derbyshire (grass snakes and adders, the latter being mildy poisonous). We used to teach about the life cycle and build hibernaculas, I just dreaded the day one would slither out. Fortunately it never did!

    • Libby says:

      I’m happy to have the snakes around, but like you I don’t like being surprised by them! Especially crawling across my foot, or biting me on the ankle (both of which have actually happened to me).

      • Oh no, the thought of them crawling across my foot or biting me never even crossed my mind. Nightmares tonight me thinks!

      • Libby says:

        No, you won’t be having any nightmares…it will be ME, because Slim Jim lives, after all, in my yard. There’s no way he could get to you. So, you’re safe.

      • Phew, i’ll put the whiskey back in the cupboard and calm myself down. I hope Slim Jim keeps himself out of trouble tonight.

      • Libby says:

        I’ll personally make sure he stays home. Don’t answer the phone though…just in case he tries to call you. I have very little control over what he does in his own time.

  • […] matte black topside, and a yellowy-creamy-colored underside.  This was not our harmless pet Slim Jim-the water-snake.  This was a water moccasin, also known as a cottonmouth.  Cottonmouths are poisonous and highly […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slim Jim, the water snake at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

