Week in review: 5/18/2012

May 18, 2012 § 12 Comments

This week I happened one day to catch a heron fishing along the shore of the pond.

We used our outdoor grill almost every day this week.  Here’s some chicken marinating for what became Wednesday night’s dinner.

Last night we had pasta salad, from this recipe from the Ranting Chef.  We didn’t follow his directions exactly.  For a salad dressing, I whisked together a honey ginger vinaigrette with a little honey, minced garlic, dry powdered ginger, sesame oil, soy sauce, and white vinegar.  Cauliflower isn’t in our stores this time of year, so I used a can of artichoke hearts instead.  It was a very delicious salad, even with our changes.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Week in review: 5/18/2012

  • Very pretty and food looks delish

  • viveka says:

    Love the photo from the pond, want one too. What’s your chicken marinade made of … really like the look of it. The bits on top of your salad … is’t some kind of bacon????

    • Libby says:

      For a marinade, I always use equal parts oil and vinegar, plus some chopped garlic and fresh herbs. For this particular marinade, I used balsamic vinegar and olive oil, and for the herbs I cut some fresh oregano, parsley, and thyme from the herb garden. The Ranting Chef’s salad recipe did indeed call for chopped bacon (which really pleased Dave), so I fried up several pieces and choped them fine…it was SUCH a delicious salad.

      • viveka says:

        oming back … will give it a try now when the salad on the balcony time will start. The bacon on top looked first like “cereals” So sorry!!!! – then I check the recipe and it said bacon, but even there it look like cereals.. must be my eyes.

  • viveka says:

    Now I know what it’s … its the noodles I see on top. God, how stupide can I be.

    • Libby says:

      Oh, that’s funny! You can’t leave off the special chinese noodles, either…they are so delicious.

      • viveka says:

        … how strange was that. Still I struggle with both pasta and noodles in the same salad, but will give it a try. Also I think I will struggle to get those noodles in Landskrona, we don’t have Asian supermarket and normal supermarket only have the basic.

      • Libby says:

        Sometimes you can buy this kind of noodles in a can. If you can’t find them, then I suggest something that adds a little crunch like sliced water chestnuts or carrots, or some sliced almonds.

      • viveka says:

        Good thinking, Libby … like the sound of water chestnuts. Will come back with verdict. So the those noodles are crunchy.??? Have served deep fried noodles as topping on a chicken salad many years ago – very popular, but it was more like a nest of noodles.

      • Libby says:

        Yes, they are very crunchy. I’ve eaten that “nest of noodles” you describe, and this isn’t much like that. I think this particular crunch is more like that of water chestnuts or sliced almonds (if I had to compare)…also probably healthier, too.

      • viveka says:

        Thank you … I will go with water chestnuts.

  • df says:

    That is indeed a wonderful shot of the pond; and lucky you catching your heron. I’m flat out of energy and inspiration for cooking tonight and am doing canned pesto and pasta. Wish I was eating at your place!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 5/18/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

