How to make a bed like a monkey

July 11, 2012 § 6 Comments

We have a rule at our house:  You can sleep as late as you want, but the last one out of bed has to make it.  Here’s how the bed looks when I make it:

Here’s how the bed looks when Dave makes it:

Dave gets snarky if I comment on his bed-making technique.  He always says the bed is FINE.  It’s like a chimpanzee made the bed.  Every day, we have a discussion very much like the one below (btw…this discussion is from Monday):

Dave:  HEY!  What are you doing?

Libby:  I’m remaking the bed.

Dave:  What’s wrong with it?

Libby:  It looks like it was made by a chimpanzee.  We don’t live in a zoo, you know.

Dave:  SEE?  This is EXACTLY why I hate making the bed.  You always re-do it.  It was perfectly FINE, and now you’re re-making it.

Libby:  I think you do a bad job on purpose, so you can get out of making the bed.

Dave:  That’s a LIE.  [I swear I detected a sardonical little laugh in this, but Dave claims he was merely clearing his throat].

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to How to make a bed like a monkey

  • That’s got me giggling 🙂 Love that picture of Dave’s bedmaking.

  • df says:

    I have an uncle who has always said that taking the 30 seconds required to make his bed cannot be justified and deliberately does not do it, preferring to spend those 30 seconds on something productive.

    I’m married to someone with a very similar technique to Dave’s, and I know that if the bed is going to be made, it’s better that I do it. It calms my mind to have a tidy bed!

    • Libby says:

      It’s easiest to make in the winter, when it’s a big puffy duvet and so easy to pull up. In the summertime, not so much, and our bed frequently looks like it was made by monkeys. And I’m with you…much calmer when the bed is made nicely.

  • viveka says:

    *laughing … an other for my scenes from a marriage. On this one … I think Dave is the winner even if you have read into his way of thinking.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to make a bed like a monkey at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

