Week in review: 7/27/2012

July 27, 2012 § 3 Comments

This past week, I drove twice to San Antonio, twice to Austin, and twice to Houston.  Amazingly, I only used two tanks of gas, but that’s because I drive a VW TDI Jetta.  It’s a diesel, and it gets amazing mileage.  It was many hours on the road, but I’m completely fine with that.  Don’t think that I was driving dangerously because  I took a picture while I was driving…I think the two vehicles that you see in this picture are the ONLY vehicles I saw on the road the entire time…yes, the road was just that empty. 

I attended an Army graduation ceremony in San Antonio for the daughter of two very good friends.  She’s in her second year of medical school, and everyone is so proud of her.  I was happy to be her “family” member in the audience (even though I’m technically not related to her, I’d like to think that I am).  Before graduation, she was able to spend two days in Houston with me and Dave, which was especially nice.

When I wasn’t in San Antonio and Houston, I was in the Austin area with Dave’s birth family.  Dave is adopted.  A few years ago, I found his birth family.  They have been very much a part of our family ever since we found them.   Dave’s mother and I made chicken enchiladas one afternoon, and they were so delicious.  She’s an accomplished cook, and it was such fun to collaborate with her in her well-equipped kitchen, which is TWICE the sice of our farmhouse kitchen.

The next day, we made Dave’s dad’s Mexican eggs for breakfast…so, so, so tasty, and very easy to make.  The recipe is here, if you’re interested.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Week in review: 7/27/2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 7/27/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

