Week in review: 9/7/2012

September 6, 2012 § 7 Comments

You may have noticed that I didn’t do a week in review last week…I took last Friday off to celebrate the holiday weekend, although I can’t say that we really did any “celebrating.”  Mostly,  we ran errands and did chores.  But Dave and I did appreciate the extra time off to get some things taken care of that  really needed to be accomplished.

We had a terrific salad for dinner one evening.  It was just our usual chicken salad  that we make all the time (check out My Guilty Pleasure’s blog for a story about when she made this salad).  This time, I put the chicken salad on top of spinach leaves, and then tossed in a little avocado as well.  I topped it off with a salad dressing made with balsamic vinegar and olive oil…so simple.

We made so much of this chicken salad, there was enough to last us the entire week.  Dave and I enjoyed it several times for lunch on hearty black bread sandwiches.

I took a walk one day after work this week, and went to hang out with our neighbor’s horse.  We don’t even know this guy’s name…Dave started calling him “Mr. Horse,” and the horse doesn’t seem to mind, especially since we give him carrots.  This evening, Mr. Horse wasn’t very interested in my carrots, since he happened to be eating dinner at the time.  Oh well, another day.

 I spent the week trying to get used to a MacBook Pro…so different than my regular computer, and a little frustrating sometimes because of that.  But, I’m working to become familiar with both operating systems (at the advice of my business partner, for my work).  All week, I forced myself to use the MacBook, and now I’m actually starting to enjoy it.  Another week of this, and I’ll be completely comfortable.  Note glass of white wine to the right, which is helping with the transition.

On Thursday, I attended an all-day conference, and on Friday (today) I am doing my usual research day.  I do love my research days (adore them, actually)…they get me away from the office…not that I dislike the office, because I don’t.  It’s just a nice change in routine to be able to spend the day in the library doing a literature review, or out in the field collecting data on how people behave (I study human behavior for my real-life job when I’m not blogging).  Fridays are nice because I’m not available to clients, and so I am able to enjoy a quiet lunch on my own.  Yes, I do sometimes meet clients on Fridays, but in a much more relaxed setting than my office…local coffee shops or the library are my favorite places.  If my clients are savvy enough to figure out where I’ll be on a given Friday, then they do sometimes drop in on me.      

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Week in review: 9/7/2012

  • viveka says:

    Haven’t I replayed on this one .. ?????

    • Libby says:

      Yes you have, and such a beautiful salad you made! We make this salad all the time here…maybe 2-3 times a month (it’s one of Dave’s favorites). I included a link to your blog in this one.

      • viveka says:

        I wrote a long replay before I went to the doctor .. when I came home .. the replay didn’t show. Thanks for linking me up – I love avocado too – so I will put that in next time.
        Reagarding MacBok – I understand you .. have tried both that and Ipad – but no, I stick with windows .. and what I’m good at. Love XP – know that it’s on MIcrosoft’s left leg now. Good luck – and have a great weekend. Did my chicken liver pizza tonight – post will come. *smile

      • Libby says:

        I’m wrestling with the MacBook right this very moment! Maybe I should get some wine 🙂 Please do post on the chicken liver pizza…I love the idea of that!

      • viveka says:

        I use a basic frozen .. as base – it will come next week. Get a bottle of wine – Ipad I can’t stand it change screen so soon I moved it a bit – and I don’t have an Iphone so I don’t have think about linking things up. I see you got a new neighbor ??? Mr Horse *smile – maybe he are a bit shy for you.

      • Libby says:

        Can’t wait to see the pizza…meanwhile, I’ll take some pictures of Mr. Horse for you over the weekend.

      • viveka says:

        Thank you … have you read my today’s blog .. about me in the Swedish air force ???
        Now is midnight here .. and I will go to bed with a newly downloaded “Top Gun” – ages since I saw it. Good Night to you both.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 9/7/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

