Week in review: 10/5/2012

October 5, 2012 § 2 Comments

We made shrimp wontons.  Since I had that terrible reaction to shellfish, my doctor decided that I can’t eat shrimp anymore.  So, David got to eat all of the shrimp wontons.

Fortunately I also made a few without the shrimp, and they were very good.  To make wontons, just take 12 premade eggroll or wonton wrappers, and place them in a greased muffin pan.  Fill with a mixture of 8-ounces cream cheese, 1/2 cup chopped cooked shrimp, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon Herbs de Provence, and 3 chopped green onions (I just mixed all of this up with a fork, and then stuffed it into the wonton shells).  Spray the shells with a little olive oil, or brush with melted butter.  Then bake in a preheated 325-degrees fahrenheit oven, until the wontons are slightly brown around the edges, about 15 minutes.  Remove, cool, and eat.  Makes 12 wontons.

We made an apple cake.  I’ll be sharing the recipe for that with you a little later, but here’s a preview:

The top of this cake was slightly crunchy with a streusel brown sugar topping.

And of course, you know all about the shenanigans with the broken water line while we were digging the holes for our new fence.

Meanwhile, we have 11 more holes to dig.  We still haven’t finished the project because it rained, and we also had full schedules at work.  We’re hoping to finish the digging by the end of the upcoming weekend.  Dave has already ordered the wood for constructing the fence.  The dogs are not pleased, since we are not allowing them to play in the area where the construction is taking place.

When we’re done building our yard fence, then we have the fence to build in front of the property (yay, the work on our street is just about finished, after a long year of construction).  And, we also have fences for the side pasture, and a couple of gates to construct.  Looks like we’re going to be very busy for a long time.

Dave lost his eyeglasses.  As usual, I was the first person who came to mind when he was trying to figure out where he left them, as evidenced by the following phonecall:

Dave:  I can’t find my glasses.

Libby:  Hmmm…did you look on the table?

Dave:  They are not on the table.  You’ve put them somewhere.

Libby:  No.  I did not put them somewhere.  Did you leave them in the TV room?

Dave:  They are not in the TV room.  You put them somewhere when you were in an organizing frenzy.

Libby:  No, I did not put them anywhere.  Did you perhaps put them into the shopping bag with your new shirts you just bought?

Dave:  They are not in the shopping bag.  Please, think about where you put them.  I really need my glasses.

Libby:  In the bedroom?  Bathroom?  Living room?  Buffet?

Dave:  No. No. No. No. They are gone.  You’ve put them somewhere.

Libby:  Well, keep looking.  I haven’t seen them, and I didn’t put them anywhere.

Dave:  Sigh.

Another phonecall 10 minutes later:

Dave:  I found my glasses.

Libby:  Where were they?

Dave:  In the shopping bag with my new shirts.

Libby:  See!?  I didn’t do anything with them.  You’re sorry for accusing me, right?

Dave:  Bye.

So, that’s how it always goes.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week in review: 10/5/2012

  • Good shrimps and quality ‘boy looking’

  • df says:

    Those wontons sound so yummy! I’ve never made them and must try. My husband doesn’t necessarily blame me for losing his glasses, but somehow I’m always responsible for helping to find them. Buying multiple pairs doesn’t seem to help either. Good luck with the fencework; it will keep you very busy, indeed!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 10/5/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

