Week in review: 10/12/2012

October 13, 2012 § 2 Comments

We’re still working hard in the garden, wearing ourselves out building a fence and digging up the flowerbeds.  On a whim, while I was digging up the enormous schefflera, I decided to make the beds even bigger, and create a small herb garden off the patio.  Here it is, in progress.  It’s about twice the size it was before, and I’m debating making it even bigger.

This is the area right outside the kitchen window, and will be perfect for growing herbs.  Dave keeps asking me why I’m not growing herbs in his dad’s old herb garden, and although I’ve tried, I’ve found that they just don’t do very well there anymore.  There’s much more shade in that area than there was when he was a kid.  The trees in the yard have created many shady areas that are now too dark to grow herbs.

While I was digging, I found these bulbs in the bed.  I’m not sure what they are, but I’ll be transplanting them into the flower bed in front of the house.  They might be some sort of lilies.

We won’t know what they are until they bloom.  I also transplanted a honeysuckle to the back patio, where it can grow up the arbor.  I think by next summer, it should be tall enough to touch the top of the arbor.  Honeysuckle grows very fast.

So, all week, I’ve been battling sore arms from digging.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week in review: 10/12/2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 10/12/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

