Sneaking more healthiness into quiche: Spinach bacon quiche

October 25, 2012 § 4 Comments

I don’t know if we’ve told you, but Dave has had more than a few head traumas.  He was injured in the military, and has also experienced several concussions as a race car driver and extreme sports enthusiast.  You name it, he has done it:  shifter cart racing, rock climbing, mountain climbing, jumping out of airplanes, water-skiing, snowboarding, car-racing, skeet-shooting, competitive shooting, whitewater canoing, sailboat racing, barefoot waterskiing, football, motorcycle racing, competitive swimming, combat shooting (IPSC), training SWAT teams in weapons use…there’s probably more, but it’s hard to keep up with the guy.  I just checked with him to make sure that I appropriately listed his list of hobbies, and he wants me to tell you that he has never done any bungee-jumping, because it he says bungee-jumping is “irrational,” and none of the other sports I’ve just described are irrational.

When someone has experienced a head trauma, their tastes change.  Many individuals who’ve experienced a head trauma are particularly sensitive to textures and tastes.  Dave’s no exception.  When we eat at a restaurant, Dave removes the top from the pepper shaker, and pours a tablespoonful of pepper onto his food.  And he likes salt so much that when he cooks I have to remind him to leave the salt out, and just salt his own food afterward…otherwise it’s too salty for me to eat.  Partner Dave’s unique tastes with the fact that he is a supertaster, and you emerge with an enormously picky eater.  While I’ll eat just about everything, he dislikes just about everything.

Cooking for Dave is difficult.  In all fairness, he says cooking for ME is difficult, because I’m always insisting that we eat healthily.  Imagine that.  He was SHOCKED when I told him that bacon should be a side dish, and not the entire actual meal.  He’d probably be dead by now, if I hadn’t come along and married him before the bacon fat had a chance to take control over his bloodstream.

When I cook, I try to prepare meals that are healthy, AND Dave-friendly.  This also means that I subject poor Dave to a lot of trickery…I hide healthy options like pureed eggplant in dishes like lasagne.  I skimp on bacon, and I make him drink 1% milk instead of whipping cream, which he was drinking when we started dating…what kind of a normal human being drinks CREAM as a beverage?

Yesterday, when I read about Wuppenif making chocolate cake with beets, I thought about how I could insert even more healthy alternatives into our meals.  While I’m sneakily planning a beet-enhanced chocolate cake for the future, I also thought about how I could use some of the other healthy foods currently residing in our refrigerator (i.e. cottage cheese and spinach).  So, I invented the following recipe for a Dave/Wuppenif-inspired quiche, using two of Dave’s most hated ingredients, spinach and cottage cheese. Oh, and by the way…it’s perfectly good for non-supertasters and normal people.  It’s also low carb.  I quite liked this, and so did Dave.   Dave had two servings, and he took some to the office today for lunch.

Extra healthy spinach bacon quiche

1 (9-inch) deep dish pie crust

2 slices bacon

2 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 cup minced ham

3/4 cup chopped fresh spinach

1/2 teaspoon Herbs de Provence

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 cup shredded cheese (whatever you have on hand; we used mozzarella and 2 tablespoons parmesan)

5 eggs, beaten

1 cup small curd cottage cheese

5 tablespoons cream

1 green onion, minced

Paprika

Preheat oven to 425-degrees Fahrenheit. Prick the piecrust with a fork. Place the piecrust in the oven, and bake for 5 minutes. Remove from oven, and reduce oven temperature to 350-degrees Fahrenheit.

Place the bacon in a frying pan, and cook until crisp.  Remove from pan and drain on paper towels.

Cook the garlic briefly in the bacon grease until soft (about 30 seconds to a minute).  Use a slotted spoon to remove the garlic from the pan, and then place the garlic into the pre-cooked piecrust.

On top of the the piecrust, place (in the following order) the chopped ham, then chopped spinach, Herbs de Provence, red pepper, and shredded cheese.  Crumble the bacon, and sprinkle over the top.

In a separate bowl, use a fork to beat the eggs.  Stir in the cottage cheese and the cream.  Pour over the piecrust.  Top with the green onion.  Sprinkle with a little paprika.  Place in the oven, and bake for about 45 minutes, until the center feels firm to the touch, and a skewer or toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 10-15 minutes before serving.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Sneaking more healthiness into quiche: Spinach bacon quiche

  • viveka says:

    I will try this as an omelet – because of the pastry. And I will try that chocolate and beet cake.
    I’m going to be busy after my return from Stockholm. *smile
    His taste buds for bacon hasn’t changed .. I can see. *smile
    But it’s true that taste can change after head injuries – I had a colleague the lost the taste totally after a fall in one of our walk-in-fridges. Had to quit working as a chef

    • Libby says:

      So sad for your friend. I read a book recently about a chef that happened to. He remained a chef, but had great difficulty adjusting to his disability.

  • df says:

    I already knew about Dave being a supertaster, but didn’t know about the head injury side of things. You really do have an amazing challenge on your hands, and you totally rise to the occasion Libby, continually innovating in the kitchen! I’m impressed. And I love the sound of this quiche. Thanks so much for the shout-out, and I’m touched that we got a mention here in relation to the quiche. I’ll definitely be giving it a whirl here in the next few days! I was just telling someone about your pumpkin / cranberry / pear cake too (an offline sort of person), and they were intrigued.

    • Libby says:

      Oh, please tell them to try the cake, because it is SO delicious! We all loved it, probably about as much as we’re going to love your sneaky beet-enhanced-cake…I can’t wait to give that a try!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sneaking more healthiness into quiche: Spinach bacon quiche at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

