Sloppy Joe sandwiches

October 26, 2012 § 5 Comments

Earlier this week, I whipped up some sloppy Joe sandwiches for dinner.  I ate these all the time as a kid, but evidently Dave was spared this childhood staple.  He came to the table, and looked suspiciously at his sandwich (probably thinking that I was trying to sneak healthy vegetables or some other travesty into his food).  In the end, he liked it, but it was touch and go for awhile.

Also known as a loose meat sandwich, the Sloppy Joe is made from ground beef and seasonings.  It is economical, and also quick to prepare, making it an easy weeknight staple.  Kids especially love Sloppy Joes.

Sloppy Joe sandwiches

1 pound ground beef

1/4 cup red onion, minced

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup, plus 1 tablespoon ketchup

1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

4 toasted hamburger buns, toasted

Brown the beef in a medium-sized saucepan, over medium heat.  When the beef is brown, add the onion and garlic, and cook until the onion and garlic are soft.  Drain the excess fat from the pan.  Stir in the ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, chili powder, dry mustard, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper.  Cook for 3-4 minutes, until flavors are combined.  Serve in toasted buns.  Serves 4.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Sloppy Joe sandwiches

  • viveka says:

    Haven’t had a Sloppy Joe … for ages. Forgotten when I was over … if there is one thing US is good on is’t sandwiches – warm or cold … you’re world champion. Next time I buy mince I do myself a Sloopy Joe.

  • df says:

    Oh my gosh, does this ever take me back. Way back! This was in constant rotation at my house when I was a child. Along with omelettes, spaghetti and meat sauce, and a Chinese-inspired sort of stir fry. My parents were focused on having to survive mealtime more than anything else! Having said all that, it would be great fun to serve this up to my own kids, and I just happen to be defrosting a package of organic beef as I write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sloppy Joe sandwiches at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

