Madsen bicycle

October 29, 2012 § 6 Comments

Dave and I live very close to several grocery stores.  In fact, our little farmhouse and property sits exactly equidistant from two very nice markets.  On Saturday mornings, you’ll find me loading up the car with an Irish Wolfhound and some handy reusable shopping bags, and then heading out for errands.

I try to consolidate all of my errands into one trip, heading to the bank drive-through, where Addie usually gets a couple of biscuits.  Then, it’s off to the hardware store, where Addie’s allowed to come inside.  After the hardware store, we drive to the grocery store, where Addie supervises the parking lot with her head out the skylight, waiting for me while I run inside and get groceries.  Thank goodness the weather now is so much cooler, because I hate leaving Addie at home.  Riding in the car is one of her most favorite things ever.

Although I hate to deprive the dog of going on a car ride, I’ve been thinking recently about purchasing a Madsen utility bicycle, and doing our shopping this way.  The Madsen bike has a nice big cargo area, and can easily hold a week’s worth of shopping. Not to mention the great exercise we’d get traveling to and from the store via bike.  I mentioned this to Dave on Saturday, and he was not exactly welcoming of the idea.

Libby:  I think I want one of those Madsen bikes for going to the grocery store.

Dave:  What’s a Madsen bike?

Libby:  It’s great.  It has a bucket in the back for hauling stuff.

Dave:  Just put a trailer on the back of your mountain bike.

Libby:  I guess, but it won’t be like the Madsen bike.

Dave:  You don’t need another bike.

Libby:  I can’t take the dogs with me on my Trek.

Dave:  You can’t take the dogs with you on the Madsen either.  Are you CRAZY?   Just WALK to the store, or drive your car like a NORMAL person.

(source)

Then, on Sunday:

Libby:  I looked on Craig’s List, and no one is getting rid of a Madsen bike.  There was a beat-up bike trailer though.

Dave:  Why are you obsessed with riding bicycles?  Do you want to be killed?  Our town is full of crazy people who love to hit bicycles with their cars.

Libby: A Madsen’s only $1600, and think of the money we’d save on fuel.

Dave:  Sigh.  I’m not going to win this.  Am I?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Madsen bicycle

  • Viveka says:

    That is some serious bike … but what about the winter and biking – maybe Dave is right here – I would walk with my “shopping trolley” – if it’s so close and you will get the exercise too. Personal I think it’s a lot of money for a shopping bike. To me it looks dangerous and with a dog in it … Wow.

    • Libby says:

      The store is too far for a shopping trolley, but close enough for a bike ride. Dave’s with you regarding the expense and the impracticality of it…he’s urging me to find a little bike trailer on Craig’s List.

  • df says:

    I’m a huge cycling fan, so I’d say go for whatever bike will get you out there and cycling. That’s a wonderful transition to make, especially if it’s something that you really want to do. We’ve been training Reggie on riding in a trailer, for what it’s worth! 🙂

  • Lisa says:

    I am with Dave on this one. Too dangerous on narrow country roads.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Madsen bicycle at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

