Down under…a second summer

November 15, 2012 § 6 Comments

You may have noticed that our posts have been a little erratic lately.  This is because I had to make en emergency trip to Australia to take care of my family here…my uncle is very sick, but I think he’s going to make it.  Dave stayed behind in Texas, while I made the 36-hour journey to Brisbane.  I’m still in Australia, and plan to be here awhile longer.

Although summer is over in Texas, and Dave’s experiencing the first of the cold winter, here in Brisbane spring just ended, and it’s summer.  My uncle’s patio vegetable garden is doing well, and I’m planning to pick these tomatoes for a salad later today:

I’ve been spending most of my time at the hospital here, and the nurses and doctors are efficient and caring.  When I’m not at the hospital, I’m talking to doctors outside of the hospital.  So, my days are long.  I’m up early this morning (5am) to catch up on work email, my dissertation (still in process), and to drink a cup of coffee while enjoying the sunrise.  Here’s the view off our back patio here in Australia:

It’s a beautiful view, and no wonder my uncle is clamoring to get out of the hospital, and back home.  His favorite place is in a chair on the patio, where he can watch the water, and enjoy the seagulls who sometimes stop in to visit.

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Down under…a second summer

  • df says:

    I hope that your uncle has a quick and strong recovery and that you can enjoy the lovely environment you find yourself in while you tend to him.

  • viveka says:

    I hope that your uncle with come home to his patio and enjoy that beautiful view. Are you his only relative???? I also hope that you will have time to enjoy Australia and enjoy the early summer weather, not too hot yet. Great photos – and those tomatoes – can feel how juicy they are and how full of flavor they are.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Down under…a second summer at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

