How to make perfect hard boiled eggs

November 20, 2012 § 9 Comments

When I moved away from home, I wasn’t very good in the kitchen.  I remember my first attempt at hard boiled eggs, when I cooked the eggs for so long (hours) that they exploded.  It was a kitchen disaster, and I had egg pieces all over the kitchen.  I also exploded a potato in the microwave…it didn’t occur to me to prick the potato before placing it into the microwave.  The mess in the microwave was unbelievable.  Thankfully, my kitchen skills have improved since those college years.

For anyone who needs a little help cooking eggs, here’s the technique for flawless hard-boiled eggs every time.  The secret is to add salt to the water.  This prevents the shells from cracking in the water.  Vinegar also works.  Every week, I hard boil  7-8 eggs, and use them for breakfast or snacks throughout the week.  They’re a perfect little meal.

Perfect hard boiled eggs

8 eggs

1 teaspoon salt

water to cover

Gently place the eggs into a large saucepan.  Add the salt.  Cover the eggs with water, and place over high heat on the cooktop.  Bring to a boil.  Cook for exactly 7 minutes.  Remove from heat, and rinse in cold water.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to How to make perfect hard boiled eggs

  • THE VIBE 101 says:

    Your story reminds me of some of my experiences in the kitchen…lol!

  • viveka says:

    To boil a perfect egg ???? 9 min … and the eggs goes into good salted boiling water. A perfect egg in my my world is the Daffodil egg .- you are so right about rinsing under running cold water.I have to blow my own horn here – I can peel 2 eggs on the same time – one in each hand, but only if I have boiled them myself.

    • Libby says:

      Your way makes perfect eggs, too. The only reason I do not make eggs your way is because I am lazy. I would LOVE to see you peel two eggs at a time! I’ll bet you can break eggs with one hand, too (something I have tried many times and have had only partial success with).

      • viveka says:

        *laughing – I had to make some comment to your post – a perfect egg is different to all of us.
        In my smörgåsbord days did I boil about 1000 eggs per day and I peeled everyone of them myself.
        Need to get it into art then. Can’t do it if somebody else has boiled the eggs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to make perfect hard boiled eggs at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

