Week in review: 12/7/2012

December 8, 2012 § 2 Comments

I fed the seagulls and ducks out in the back.  Every morning they come up the canal and watch us from the beach.

Seagulls and ducks

Yesterday a few ducks visited my uncle on the patio.  He was relaxing in his lounger chair, and they flew in and walked around for a bit, then flew out over the water.  It was a nice treat for my uncle.

ducks and feet

I made a tasty vegetable dish one evening.  It was simple to put together and tasted very fresh.  I started with an entire sliced zucchini that I sauteed in minced garlic and a little olive oil until lightly browned.

zucchini

Once the zucchini was nice and brown but still crisp, I stirred in a little cooked corn that I cut off the cob.  When everything was almost cooked through, I stirred in about 1/3 a cup of white wine, and cooked until the wine was almost evaporated. This was a delicious and easy side dish.

Temperatures here have been over 100 degrees fahrenheit every day.  It’s so incredibly hot.  We’re on the East coast of Australia, and it usually doesn’t get this warm here.   In the evenings, my aunt and I like to cool off in the jacuzzi spa.

Feet

It’s nice having an extra summer!  I left Texas as fall was ending, and came to Australia in the beginning of summer.

On Friday, a few of my aunt’s girlfriends came over for lunch.  I cooked them spaghetti and meatballs (recipe is here), plus garlic bread, and a small cucumber salad.

cucumber salad

My aunt also served them champagne, which made for a special lunch treat.  We sat on the outside patio and talked for hours.  It was such a fun day.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week in review: 12/7/2012

  • viveka says:

    I just love that patio – so close to the water … no crocodiles around there???
    Very envy about the lunch and the champagne. You seems to have a relaxed and great time .. fare away from snow and chill where I’m – but I don’t mind you having an second summer this year.

    • Libby says:

      No crocs that I know of! I’ve never seen any in our back yard, but I did see a gigantic crocodile once when we were on holiday. I also saw a big monitor lizard here, too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 12/7/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

