Caviar mousse for a holiday cocktail party

December 10, 2012 § 15 Comments

We served a delicious caviar mousse when we entertained my aunt’s friends last week.  It’s simple to prepare, and it looks beautiful on a tray.  It also stays fresh for several days.  I suggest that you prepare the mousse in two bowls or ramekins, as opposed to just one.  This way, you can have a spare for another party, and it’s always nice to be prepared over the holidays!

caviar 2

This particular recipe was adapted from one we found on Nigella Lawson’s website, but my aunt has been making her own version of this for years.  It goes wonderfully with champagne and would be perfect for New Year’s.

I have to admit that the whole idea of caviar mousse wasn’t initially very appealing to me at all.  In years past, when my aunt would whip this up for parties, I wouldn’t even deign to taste it, and that’s unusual for me.  However, this year, I did try it, and now I’m addicted.  I can’t imagine a cocktail party without it.

In addition to serving this with crackers, try thinly sliced cucumber or carrot rounds.

Caviar mousse

1 packet powdered plain gelatin (about 1/2 ounce, or a little more than 1 tablespoon gelatin powder)

Water

1 cup cream

2 tablespoons lemon juice

4.5 ounces black caviar (200g total, which is equivalent to 4 small jars caviar)

1 tablespoon finely grated onion

1/4 cup good quality mayonnaise (not diet)

Parsley and lemon peel (garnish)

Crackers and cut vegetables (for serving)

Soak the gelatin in 1/4 cup cold water.  Gently stir in 1/4 cup boiling water.  Allow to cool.

Beat the cream until soft peaks form.  Gently fold in the cooled gelatin, lemon juice, caviar, onion, and mayonnaise.  Pour into 2 small molds or ramekins, and refrigerate several hours until set.

Briefly immerse the bottom of each mold in hot water.  Turn out onto a serving plate.  Garnish with parsley and lemon peel.  Serve with crackers and vegetables.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Caviar mousse for a holiday cocktail party

  • Trace says:

    Do you mind me asking how much caviar is going for? I live in New Zealand and it is really expensive here. and I’m wondering what the prices are like. 200g of caviar is probably say around $150 US, I’d guess, it is about $1 a gram, NZ money.

    • Libby says:

      We used the caviar that can be purchased in the grocery store. It is in a very small jar, and sold next to the sardines and smoked oysters. I happen to be in Australia right now visiting family, and I purchased 4 jars of caviar at Coles for $5.50 each Australian, which I thought was very economical. Do you have a Coles market in New Zealand?

      • Trace says:

        No we don’t have Coles. Perhaps I can look around. I can’t remember seeing caviar at a supermarket, but you can get it elsewhere at specialty stores.

        What was the quality like on your $5.50 jar, any idea?

      • Libby says:

        The quality on my $5.50 jars wasn’t anything special. I think the label said it was lumpfish caviar. For this recipe, it was perfectly fine, but if I were eating caviar by itself, I’d definitely pick something more extravagant.

  • Lisa says:

    I must give the same response I give your Borscht – wwwww!!! Smile

  • viveka says:

    Inviting photo … but black caviar is not my hottest thing – I like the Swedish caviar, the red gold – but not fond of Russian, Iranian or the black cheaper substitute. Eaten all 3, but the “grains” are too big for my taste. Like the little dish you done – great.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Caviar mousse for a holiday cocktail party at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

