Week in review: 12/28/2012

December 28, 2012 § 4 Comments

We are loving our new dishwasher (yay!). It’s nice to have water in the kitchen, too. we 12_28 1

After returning from Australia to find no dishwasher and no water (due to a leaky pipe), it is a big relief to get everything back to normal again.  The new dishwasher is a KitchenAide, and it works great.  I’ve done 3 washes so far, and find that I really like the 1-hour speed cycle.  I was able to do a quick load before Christmas dinner, and there was plenty of time to get everything washed and put away before our guests arrived.

I shot this nice picture of Dave having a conversation with Otis.  I’m not sure what they were discussing, but it looks very important.

WE 12_28 2

Dave and I continued building our new fence.  We started this long before I left for my almost 2-month trip to Australia, and Dave was going to finish it while I was gone.  However, life intervened, and when I returned to Texas, the fence was still unfinished.

we 12_28 3

Otis has been helping us with the construction.  Usually, he just sits alongside as we screw in the planks.   I’m happy to say that with his help, we’ve been making terrific progress, and the fence is almost complete.

we 12_28 4

On one of our trips to the barn to gather fence-building supplies, Dave encountered this baby owl:

we 12_28 5

The picture quality isn’t good.  I was trying especially hard to take the picture without bothering the little fellow.

Meanwhile, I jumped into holiday baking and made pumpkin puree from a gigantic pumpkin we had in in our pantry.  From that, I made pumpkin pie, dog biscuits, and some pumpkin bread.  Recipe for the pumpkin bread will appear next week.

we 12_28 6

Our cat Chief, continues his healing.  He was feeling well enough on Christmas evening to play with a discarded gift box.  Actually, he’s still playing with that box tonight, pouncing on it, tumbling into it, and pushing it across the floor.  Who knew a cardboard box could be so entertaining?

we 12_28 7

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Week in review: 12/28/2012

  • viveka says:

    Only had dishwasher once … while I lived in Brighton. Still handmade for me – but I can image been without kitchen can be frustrating enough.
    A baby owl – will the little fellow not freeze to death … is it normal for them to be born that late in the year???? I had an owl as pet as a child – wonderful and very wise bird. Somebody feed him with bacon and that was it – salt isn’t a owls best friend. Often thinking … of him. My grandfather was a game keeper for the council and he had found it on the ground – just so big as yours and he couldn’t see the nest … to put him back in. So he took him home.
    A great shot of Chief – love his fur. Lovely colors.
    Behind every successful man is there more than one day and a woman. *smile

    • Libby says:

      Like you, I wonder how an owl is a baby so late in the year…but it is fairly warm here year-round. Dave is fairly sure that it is a baby.

      So sorry to hear about your pet owl, and feeding it bacon. Yes, salt is definitely bad for almost all animals. That must have been very traumatic for you.

  • viveka says:

    sorry … more than one DOG !!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 12/28/2012 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

