Week in review: 01/18/2013

January 18, 2013 § 7 Comments

This week, our neighbors brought over their little cocker spaniel puppy, Murphy, to meet Otis.

GPP_01_18_2013d

Murphy is only ten weeks old, and he’s very smart.  He showed us how he can sit and lie down.  Later, he was a little scared when Otis smelled him a little too energetically.

It has been too cold and rainy to do much work on the fence.  We still lack a few hours of work before we will be complete.  Meanwhile, the dogs are able to use the mostly-fenced area to go potty in the morning.

GPP_01_18_2013

Doodle escaped yesterday morning, running through one of the open areas where we still need to attach the fence boards.  He made it into the back pasture before Dave urged him back to the yard with an offer to “go on a walk.”

A few wild green parrots visited us one morning this week.  I saw them high up in one of the dead trees on our property.  They hung around for a while, and then flew away.

GPP_01_18_2013c

I went to a networking event.  It involved painting and wine.  Who knew that a networking event could be so much fun?  There were about 50 of us there, and we were all tasked with painting the exact same picture.

GPP_01_18_2013b

At first it felt a little like the paint-by-number kits that my parents used to buy for me when I was in middle school.  After a few minutes though, the fun kicked in, and I had a blast.  No one’s painting was like anyone else’s, even though we were being guided through each step in the creation process.  My painting was impressionistic in style, while the woman at the easel next to mine used more of a realistic approach.

We had a beautiful sunrise on Thursday morning.

GPP_01_18_2013e

These days, I arise at about 5:15 am, and while the dogs are outside doing their business, I drink a cup of coffee and enjoy the morning.  It’s nice sitting outside, watching the ducks swim on the pond.

Have a good weekend.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Week in review: 01/18/2013

  • df says:

    Murphy’s a cutie-pie! I grew up with an American cocker spaniel, so I have a definite soft spot. Your networking event sounded like fun! For Christmas the boys gave me drawing lessons, which gives me one night a week out for myself, which I haven’t had in years. It’s so much fun!

  • viveka says:

    Green parrots ????!! You have some amazing animals around you – and that cute little puppy, Murphy – what a wee darling he is. Wow, a new side of you … painting .. good for you. Maybe I should look into. Always liked drawing, not very good at it – but it’s a way to let go …
    I wish you and everybody around you, 2-leg and 4-legs a great weekend.

    • Libby says:

      You have a good weekend, too! I’m actually quite the painter…I paint all the time. My colleague, who attended the event with me, has NEVER painted, and her painting was excellent (much better than mine, I have to say).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 01/18/2013 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

