Bratwurst with lentils and leeks

January 30, 2013 § 4 Comments

You may remember that on Fridays I do research.  This means an entire day away from the office, compiling data and working on my dissertation.  Although my Fridays seem less structured, they’re actually the longest days in my week.  A typical Friday for me is 16 hours.  This doesn’t give me a lot of time to prepare a meal, and Dave doesn’t have much time either.

Usually, we put something in the crockpot just before heading out the door in the morning.  I’ll return from my research at 5pm or so, check on what’s cooking, and then settle in for another 5-6 hours of work.  Sometime during the evening, Dave or I will remember that we need to eat, and we’ll assemble dinner and finally…eat at around 9pm or so.

Last Friday, we had bratwurst with lentils and leeks.  It’s hearty, and the type of dish that is perfect for the foggy cold days that we’ve been experiencing recently…also, it’s terrific for lazy cooks like us, who have little time to assemble a decent meal.

GPP Bratwurst and lentils

Bratwurst with lentils and leeks

1 pound brown lentils, rinsed and picked over

4-5 bratwurst sausages, uncooked

2 medium leeks, cleaned well, and chopped

2 medium carrots, peeled and sliced

2 celery ribs, chopped

2 bay leaves

4 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon Herbs de Provence

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

7 cups water

1 cup dry white wine

Place the lentils on the bottom of a slow cooker (i.e. crockpot).  Cover with, in the following order: the bratwurst, chopped leeks, carrots, celery, bay leaves, garlic, red pepper flakes, Herbs de Provence, salt, and pepper.  Pour in the water and white wine.  Cover, and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or until lentils are tender.

Remove the bratwurst and cut into slices.  Stir sausage slices back in to stew.  Adjust seasonings as necessary and serve.  Serves 6.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Bratwurst with lentils and leeks

  • viveka says:

    Could be something for my leftovers …. have sausage in the freezer, but not bratwurst, but it will work anyhow. 6-8 hours … is only the let down for me, maybe I will use my red lentils instead. So I put this on file. Celery is nothing I use for cooking normally – have to see what I have in the cupboard. Like the whole idea. Will let you know – will do your breakfast pies and your salmon this weekend.

  • […] us with healthy meals, and it’s also convenient.  Here’s the crockpot prepped for the bratwurst with lentils and leeks that I made earlier in the […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bratwurst with lentils and leeks at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

