Week in review: 02/01/2013

February 1, 2013 § 10 Comments

On one morning every weekend, we will go out to eat for breakfast.  Here’s what we had on Sunday.  It doesn’t look that “breakfasty,” because it was closer to lunchtime than breakfast time, so I opted for a grilled cheese, egg, and ham sandwich with a side of some sautéed spinach with bacon.

GPP_2_1_2013eI prepared porkchops one day this week.  It was so simple…I just dusted the porkchops lightly with a little flour and seasonings, then sauteed them in the cast iron frying pan.  When they were cooked through, I removed them from the pan, and added a few sliced mushrooms to the cooking juices in the pan.  We sauteed the mushrooms for a couple of minutes, and then arranged them on top of the chops.

GPP_2_1_2013c

Fresh rosemary from our garden, being dried for Herbs de Provence.

GPP_2_1_2013f

Dave requested a pumpkin pie for dessert one day this week, and I was happy to oblige.  I didn’t have time to make my own pastry this time, so I used a good quality premade pie shell from the grocery store.  The inside of the pie at least was homemade.  I’m surprised we still have some of the frozen pumpkin that I prepared at the end of December.

GPP_2_1_2013g

With our crazy schedules and long days, we find ourselves cooking more and more of our meals in the slow-cooker.  This provides us with healthy meals, and it’s also convenient.  Here’s the crockpot prepped for the bratwurst with lentils and leeks that I made earlier in the week.

GPP_2_1_2013d

I’ve been hard at work on my dissertation.  After work I sit at my desk in the back bedroom, and the dogs come in and keep me company.

GPP_2_1_2013a

Usually they just relax on the floor, but occasionally Otis will get up and shove his head under my arm.  I can’t figure out if he needs comforting, or if he’s trying to comfort me.

GPP_2_1_2013b

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Week in review: 02/01/2013

  • viveka says:

    Love the photo of Otis under your arm .. some softies that dog. Had your pasta and salmon today – wonderful … *smile – your breakfast pies this week too. Long time since I had pork chops .. have to use up my freezer first. Wish you both a pleasant weekend.

    • Libby says:

      Yes, Otis is a big softie…of all of the dogs, he is the most affectionate. And, wow…you’ve really been busy in the kitchen! How is the voting going for your picture?

      • viveka says:

        Not .. even close this time … 5th place I think, but I have won twice. The photo in the lead is very good.

      • Libby says:

        I think 5th place is pretty good, too. You’re a very good photographer.

      • viveka says:

        Thank you very much … there is so many good photographer and that takes the thing a lot more serious than what I do – they are selling their “art” – I’m just playing around and a happy amateur and sometimes I’m lucky. Like that frosty start … I hope you have seen that post. You will love it. http://wp.me/p293Pw-4Mb – my favorites. Thank you so much for your support.

      • Libby says:

        Yes, I do love that post!

      • viveka says:

        Yes, what ever I put the little camera against it loved it .. it was a truly magical morning – we haven’t had one more .. that was my moment. *smile ..

  • df says:

    you enjoyed some lovely looking meals. Reggie does that under arm thing too! I had to laugh when I saw Otis’s beautiful big snout!

    • Libby says:

      Reggie does that!? That is funny! Otis is the first dog that I have had who does this, and it makes me laugh when he “assists” me while I am working on the computer. It is funny that another dog has this same habit.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 02/01/2013 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

