Week in review: 02/15/2013

February 15, 2013 § 4 Comments

I took a walk with some friends at sunrise on Saturday morning.  We walked around a 40-acre lake a few miles away from the farmhouse.  Ages ago, I used to live in this community.

GPP 02_15_2013e

I saw some pelicans sunning themselves on a dock.

GPP 02_15_2013 g

Dave has been using the back bedroom at the farmhouse as a sort of storeroom.  All of the boxes stacked everywhere, along with whatever else he occasionally felt like throwing in there, was driving me crazy.  So, one night while he was in class, I started clearing it out.  I intentionally waited to do this while he was out of the house, because he starts getting nervous when he sees me organizing his stuff.

GPP 02_15_2013 c

I was three hours into the task when he came home.  He was amazingly unfazed by the giant trash bags, and the general havoc, and even expressed gratitude that I was tackling something that he’d evidently been wanting to start for awhile.  I’m not finished yet, but feels so good to almost have a room.  When it is clear, I think I’m going to turn it into an office.  Meanwhile, the morning after starting the project, I woke up to this:

GPP 02_15_2013b

I couldn’t figure out why my legs ached so much, and discovered I’d bruised them up pretty badly when I was moving boxes, television sets, and computers out of the room.  There’s more bruising to come, because we still have to load up the car, and haul all of the stuff off to Goodwill.

Dave and I finished welding the frame for the gate and did the installation.  Otis supervised.

GPP 02_15_2013 d

Now we can put boards onto the frame, and the fence and gate project will be complete.

We’re trying to stick to mostly low carb meals this week, although sometimes Dave slips up and eats cookies.  Here’s some chili we had for dinner on Wednesday:

GPP 02_15_2013 a

Chili always tastes better with some grated cheddar cheese and sour cream on top.

A trip to the hardware store had us purchasing some seeds for this year’s garden.

GPP 02_15_2013 j

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Week in review: 02/15/2013

  • viveka says:

    Great photos again! You have been … a busy bee this week and you have the marks to show it too. Looking forward to see all those seeds coming up to something nice and colorful. Pelicans I haven’t seen .. for years. You don’t have any snow .. I can see. And hopefully a photo of the new office one day too – I wish you and everybody around you a fantastic weekend.

  • df says:

    Oh, doesn’t it feel good to get organized, especially when you are realizing it out of chaos! Well done for getting started, though sorry to hear about the bruises. Sounds like you were pretty exuberant in your cleaning up! I’d love to see the new office too.

    • Libby says:

      We were organizing and clearing out all weekend, and we’ve made a lot of progress, but we still aren’t finished…mainly because one good project always begets another!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review: 02/15/2013 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

