Week in review 3/15/2013

March 15, 2013 § 5 Comments

It was a stressful week and a busy week.  After taking last week off, I jumped back into work, and made sure that I spent the entire week in meetings with clients, preparing proposals, and working on my dissertation.  I appreciated the activity, because it took my mind off the passing of my uncle.  He died last week, and his loss was particularly difficult.  He was much more than an uncle.  He and my aunt have been parents for me, and have mentored and guided me through so many decisions.  I don’t think that I have ever experienced such sadness and devastation.  My uncle has been a role model for me.  Whatever pain I feel, I know my aunt’s pain is even more pronounced, and I feel her sadness and loss.

While trying to take our minds off my uncle’s passing, David and I worked many hours at our offices,  I intentionally scheduled a lot of meetings, looking for something to distract me.  With our unusual busy-ness, we ate dinner out a couple of nights, which is highly unusual for us, since neither of us is particularly fond of restaurant fare.

With the stress of the week, I decided to make something comforting…homemade brownies from my childhood.  My siblings and I have been making these brownies since I was 10 years old, which is too many years to count.  The original recipe started out as something from a cookbook from a local fair.  In subsequent years, I modified it significantly, substituting butter for lard, reducing the sugar, and increasing the nuts.  It’s a quick and easy recipe, and something I frequently pull together when Dave and I are wanting something sweet.

GPP 03_15_2013

Easy brownies

½ cup butter

7 tablespoons cocoa powder

¾ cup flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup nuts

Preheat oven to 350-degrees fahrenheit.  In the microwave or a double-boiler, melt together the butter and cocoa.  Set aside.  Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.  In a large bowl, beat together the eggs, sugar, and vanilla.  Stir in nuts.  Stir in the cooled chocolate mixture, and the flour mixture.  Bake in a greased 8-inch square pan 30-35 minutes.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Week in review 3/15/2013

  • viveka says:

    It’s your uncle in AU that has passed away??? I had that “on feeling”. I’m glad that you maybe is back to normal now .. so good as normal can be.
    Brownies … to good for me – I will eat all in a couple of hours.
    Wish you a pleasant weekend .. we have snow and bright sunshine just now.

    • Libby says:

      Yes, my Australian uncle was the one who passed. We miss him very much. Enjoy the brownies…I have the same problem, and can eat an entire pan of them in just a couple of hours!

  • df says:

    Libby, I’m so sorry to hear that your uncle passed. He sounds like he was a hugely significant figure in your life, so I can imagine that you will feel lost for a bit. It’s very special that you were able to spend that time in Australia with your aunt and uncle while he was ailing recently.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week in review 3/15/2013 at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

