Beautiful duckpond scene

April 9, 2013 § 3 Comments

I’ve been travelling recently, and have also taken on some new work assignments.  With my increased workload, I’ve found that I’ve lapsed into a bad habit of focusing on the future, as opposed to living in the moment.  Today, I rushed home after two morning meetings with intentions to quickly change clothes and head to my next scheduled event.  I pulled into the driveway, and then juggled books and my computer bag to find my house key.  As I stood at the mudroom door, thinking about my day’s to-do list, I happened to glance over at the duckpond.  A few white heron stood around in the yard, enjoying the windy day.  A little rain came down, and instead of running for cover, I made myself stop and enjoy the moment.

04_09_2013

So many times, we get so caught up in the mundane tasks of everyday life, and we forget about how to enjoy that which is right in front of our eyes.   I’ve been so busy that until this afternoon, I failed to notice the many wildflowers that Dave has so carefully encouraged to grow around the house.  I also neglected to take the time to listen to the many frogs in the pond, and enjoy the hawks, osprey, and heron on our property.  I think that in the weeks to come I’ll force myself to take some time for myself, and enjoy some of the many things that we have come to appreciate here at our little farmhouse.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Beautiful duckpond scene

  • viveka says:

    You live so beautiful …. the pond look so beautiful even on a rainy day. You never told me what happen to the turtle … ???? Did she get babies.
    Great view to welcome you home.

    • Libby says:

      We never saw the turtle eggs hatch, but we do see the occasional small turtle in the pond, so we know that some of the turtle babies successfully hatched and made their way to the pond.

      • viveka says:

        That is wonderful news .. because they had a bit to make over the pond. But turtles they don’t make it easy for their babies.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beautiful duckpond scene at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

