Thrifting in Oregon

September 15, 2013 § 9 Comments

I haven’t done much these past two months on Oregon, except recover from Shingles.  I didn’t realize that it could be so painful.  I spent two months extremely exhausted, and couldn’t figure out why.  Everything tired me out.  I’d come home at the end of the day, and wouldn’t be able to manage much more than to feed the animals and then drop into bed.  Dave said I was overdoing it.  My back was aching, and a heating pad wasn’t helping much.   I figured Dave was right, and I needed to stop working so hard.  Then, one morning two weeks ago, I awoke to a strange red patch on my skin, covering about 2″ in circumference.  In a matter of hours, the rash grew to a size that covered the entire right side of my torso.  It was blistery and painful, and landed me in the emergency room.  I thought I had a skin infection…it turned out to be Shingles.

“Oh, thank goodness,” I told the ER doc, “I was afraid it might be cellulitis.”

“Actually,” he said, “Cellulitis might be better, and you’re going to need an anti-viral and some pain medication to get through this.”

I accepted the prescription for the anti-viral, but spurned the pain medication.  How bad could it be, I wondered?  It’s just a rash.  Eight hours later, I was writhing in pain.  It was very bad; it felt like someone was hacking out my spine with a pickax (no exaggeration).  I sucked it up, and didn’t take the prescription pain medication, although I did avail myself of over-the-counter ibuprofen, which was very helpful.

Today, I’m feeling much better, although I’m still not 100%.  The pain is still there, and the rash is also still apparent.  However, I’m much improved as compared to several weeks ago.  Shingles is chicken pox for grown-ups, but much worse.  It can kill you, actually.  It’s painful and long-lasting.  I recommend getting the Shingles vaccine.  Ask your doctor about it.

While recovering, I comforted myself with thrifted cookbooks.  There are several thrift stores near the house, and I was able to pick up several “antique” cookbooks for a few cents each.

Cookbooks

Several of these I remember my mom using when I was a kid.  It’s fun to look at the pictures, and remember family meals, dinner parties, and holidays.  I love the “Betty Crocker: Dinner for Two” one the best.  It’s from the 1960’s, and although my mom never used it (our family was too big for dinner-for-two), it does bring back memories.  The aspics, stewed vegetables, congealed salads, and tips for making a happy home remind me of growing up.

I love old books, and I especially love old cookbooks.  Old cookbooks bring back happy family memories.

What are your favorite nostalgic memories?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Thrifting in Oregon

  • viveka says:

    Libby, wow … I just have wondered over where you have been. Wonderful to hear from you. What I understand that Shingles is very painful, glad that you have recovered – and I hope of all my heart that you will be free from the pain soon.
    To be honest I don’t want to remember much from my childhood – wasn’t that happy, but the happiest memories I have was my pet owl, Oscar. My grandpa had found him in the forest on the ground and he wasn’t able to get him back into the nest – fare too up in the tree.
    Take it easy.

    • Libby says:

      You had a pet owl?! How fortunate Oscar was that your grandfather came along at the right time to rescue him! If you have any pictures of Oscar, I’d love to see them sometime. Yes, Shingles is awful, and I’m so happy to be on the road to recovery.

      • viveka says:

        Libby, we didn’t have a camera in the early 50th – he was so wonderful, funny, clever and devoted. I often think of Oscar. A neighbor wanted to be kind and gave him bacon … and they think that was what killed him. Had him for nearly 3 years.
        My grandpa was a community game keeper.
        Good news that you are on your way out from you Shingles ordeal.

      • Libby says:

        Maybe it was the salt in the bacon that was the end of Oscar…animals can be so sensitive to salt. Yes, the Shingles is at its end, and I feel better and better each day.

      • viveka says:

        My grandpa said that it was the salty bacon, he should know. Poor neighbor, he only meant well. *smile
        Libby, stay well know and go easy with yourself until you have fully recovered.

      • Libby says:

        Thanks Viveka…I’ve been taking care of myself, and working on getting better.

      • viveka says:

        Nice, Libby !!!

  • df says:

    What an awful experience for you Libby, and a terrible way to start your time Oregon. You have reminded me that I recently got a prescription for the shingles vaccine from my doctor, but I have to go ahead and arrange for pick up when I know the nurse at the doctor’s office can administer it. I had chicken pox when I was 30, so my risk of a nasty bout of shingles is higher. So thank you for the kick! I do hope you are feeling much better.

    • Libby says:

      Do not put off getting the vaccine! My doctor in Texas didn’t prescribe the vaccine for me at my last exam, saying that it wasn’t really necessary. Then, with all of the stress of the trip to Oregon, my defenses were down, and I was susceptible for Shingles. For me, I was sick with it for weeks before the rash manifested itself…it was a terrible run-down feeling. Thankfully, I’m on the mend now, and should be back to myself in another month or so. For you, don’t waste any time getting that vaccine!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thrifting in Oregon at Green Pocket Protector.

meta

